Overview
Ysgol Gyfun Llangefni is a bilingual community comprehensive school for pupils aged 11 to 18 years old located in Llangefni, Anglesey. Pupils come from the town of Llangefni and the surrounding villages and rural areas. The school opened in 1953 and currently has 686 students on roll.
History
Llangefni County School opened in 1897 but was superseded by Ysgol Gyfun Llangefni, County Secondary School.
The title ‘County School’ already existed and was used by the school prior to the Education Act 1944. However, the Act insisted on the term being used for all LEA maintained primary and secondary schools.
In 1947 the school was inspected and the HMI report was not favorable. The report stated that ‘there is nothing in this school on which the eye can alight with pleasure’, The school site had been significantly affected by a fire in 1939, but despite the fact that the science laboratories and the domestic science room had been destroyed, the plans to re-build the school (submitted in 1939) had been deferred as a consequence of the war and the lack of money, labour, and materials.
From Wikipedia (CC BY-SA 4.0).