Overview
The Hutchins School is an Anglican, day and boarding school for boys from pre-kindergarten to Year 12 in Hobart, Tasmania. Established in 1846, Hutchins is one of the oldest continually operating schools in Australia.
The school's students consistently rank among the highest academic achievers in Tasmania and nationally; it has had 24 Rhodes Scholars.
The school is located just under four kilometres from the CBD of Hobart, The Hutchins School offers facilities including classrooms, science and computer laboratories, libraries, a performing arts centre, a recording studio and multiple sporting grounds.
International students reside in the school's boarding facility, ‘Burbury House’, which in 2012 underwent a full refit and refurbishment.
Hutchins is a founding-member of the International Boys' Schools Coalition (IBSC), and a member of Independent Schools Tasmania (IST).The Hutchins School is one of two boys' schools in Tasmania.
History
The Hutchins School was established in 1846 at Hobart Town in memory of The Venerable William Hutchins, first Archdeacon of Van Diemen's Land. Arriving in the colony in 1837, Archdeacon Hutchins had worked tirelessly to establish a faithful ministry, erecting churches and schools and laying the foundation for secondary education under the auspices of the Church of England.
The School commenced operations under Headmaster John Richard Buckland at Ingle Hall, a large Georgian house dating from 1811 which still stands in lower Macquarie Street, Hobart. Three years later it moved several blocks up Macquarie Street to a purpose-built schoolhouse designed by Tasmanian architect, William Archer.
In the early days of many and varied schools and tenuous longevity, Hutchins survived by absorbing pupils, staff and plant of other less robust institutions, including Christ's College (1846–1912), The High School (1850–65), Horton College (1855–93) and Officer College (1888–1900). When Hutchins joined forces with Christ's College in 1912 it was the signal for Arthur A. Stephens to close Queen's College, founded by him in 1893, and accept the post of vice-master of Hutchins. In 1905 Hutchins amalgamated with Buckland's School, opened in 1893 by William Harvey Buckland, son of founding headmaster J. R. Buckland and brother of second headmaster John Vansittart Buckland.
From Wikipedia (CC BY-SA 4.0).