Overview
The Haverford School is a private, non-sectarian, all-boys college preparatory day school, junior kindergarten through grade twelve. Founded in 1884 as The Haverford College Grammar School, it is located in Haverford, Pennsylvania.
History
The school was founded in 1884 at the request of Alexander and Lois Cassatt, niece of President James Buchanan, as The Haverford College Grammar School. Affiliated initially with neighboring Haverford College until 1903, the school became independent, changed its name to The Haverford School, and moved to its current location across Railroad Avenue from the college. The school was Quaker during its affiliation with the college but is now non-sectarian.
Haverford's original school colors were red and yellow for the first decade of the school's existence. However, after the outbreak of the Spanish–American War in 1898, the official colors were changed to maroon and gold out of national pride since the colors of the Spanish flag were the same red and yellow.
Curriculum
All Upper School students must take four years of English, three years of history, mathematics, and science, and two consecutive years of foreign language and fine arts. Many students elect to take four years of history, foreign language, and fine arts.
From Wikipedia (CC BY-SA 4.0).