Overview
Sterling High School served African American students in Greenville, South Carolina between 1896 and 1970.
History
Sterling High School was affiliated with the John Wesley Church and was established by Rev. D. M. Minus (Daniel Melton Minus) in 1896 as Sterling Academy.
The school was named Sterling Industrial College for Mrs. E. R. Sterling of Poughkeepsie, New York who funded Rev. Minus's college education at Claflin University in Orangeburg, South Carolina. Sterling Industrial College became Enoree High School in 1915. In 1929 it became a public district school and returned to the Sterling name.
In 1930 a building permit for "Sterling negro high school" was approved for $26,000. The permit was for two stories, each 13 feet high. The architect was Haskell Martin, and builders were Potter and Shackleford.
From Wikipedia (CC BY-SA 4.0).