Overview
('Palmgren Coeducational School'), originally ('Practical Work School for Children and Youth'), in Stockholm, Sweden, was the first school in Scandinavia to offer coeducation up to the studentexamen. It was also the first to offer sloyd, a handicraft-based education, in addition to theoretical subjects. The school changed its name to in 1891–1892.
The school was founded in 1876 by (father of Valfrid Palmgren) who was rector until 1907. A later co-owner and rector was Carl Nordblad; the other co-owner was well-known mathematics teacher and textbook author . Henning L. Håkanson (1892–1985) was rector from 1925 to 1963.
The school was originally located in , where only sloyd was taught, but moved in 1877 to Regeringsgatan 28, where it was divided into two departments, one for reading and manual work and one exclusively for manual work. Gradually, it developed into a complete school of 12 classes in two sections, an early primary school and a later primary school. From 1883 it received state subsidies and in 1888 the right to employ examiners for the (at that time known as , 'maturity exam') and in 1908 the right to take the real school examination. In 1915 the school was taken over by a joint-stock company and in 1925 by the religious Fredrika Foundation.
Between 1877 and 1938 the school had several different addresses on Malmtorgsgatan and Arsenalsgatan before settling at Kommendörsgatan 13.
From Wikipedia (CC BY-SA 4.0).