Overview
John Lyon (1514–1592) was a significant English landowner, who by 1564 had the largest land-rental income in Harrow, and who was subsequently the founder of Harrow School, and of The John Lyon School, and of the John Lyon's Charity. The Harrow School house, Lyon's, is named after him. He was a member of the Anglo-Norman Lyons family, and was a first cousin of Sir John Lyon, who was Lord Mayor of London for 1554 to 1555.
Life
John Lyon, who was born in 1514, and resided at Preston Hall, was a member of the Anglo-Norman Lyons family that owned estates at Harrow-on-the-Hill. He was the son of John Lyon (b. c.1450), and the first cousin of Sir John Lyon, who was Lord Mayor of London in 1553–1554, who was a member of the Worshipful Company of Grocers. John descended from another John Lyon, who in 1370 received land at Kingsbury (of the parish of Edgware). Some sources identify his mother as a woman named Joan who married his father: others identify his mother as Emma Hedde (b. c.1470).
Lyon died on 3 October 1592 without issue: and his wife, Joan, died on 30 August 1608. Both he and his wife were buried in St Mary's, Harrow on the Hill, where they have memorials. A monumental brass bearing the effigies of John and his wife, that had an inscription, was removed from the floor during a restoration, and placed against a wall of the church. However, in 1888, a marble slab with a Latin inscription was laid over his grave.
Charities
John Lyon by 1564 had the largest land-rental income in Harrow, and was in 1572 the founder, with Royal Charter, of Harrow School, and of The John Lyon School, and of the John Lyon's Charity. A Harrow School house, Lyon's, is named after him, but the Harrow School buildings that were built after his death were built by and named after another John Lyon.
From Wikipedia (CC BY-SA 4.0).