Overview
The Academy of Music was name of two theatres in Washington D.C. located at the corner of 9th and D Streets on the former site of Lincoln Hall. The first Academy of Music opened as Lincoln Music Hall in 1889, and was renamed the Academy of Music in 1892. It operated until January 24, 1907, when it was destroyed by fire. A new theatre was built on the same site, and it opened as the Academy of Music on September 2, 1907. It was acquired by Tom Moore in 1914, and rebranded the Moore's Orpheum Theatre in February 1914. Under Moore the theater became a cinema for silent film screenings. Its name was changed to the Strand Theatre in August 1914. It was still operating as a movie theater as late as 1942, and then operated as a burlesque theater until closing in 1949. It was demolished in 1952.
From Wikipedia (CC BY-SA 4.0).