Overview
Westfield College was a small college situated in Hampstead, London, from 1882 to 1989. It was the first college to aim to educate women for University of London degrees from its opening. The college originally admitted only women as students and became coeducational in 1964. In 1989, it merged with Queen Mary College. The merged institution was named Queen Mary and Westfield College until 2013, when the name was legally changed to Queen Mary University of London.
History
The college was founded in 1882 by Constance Louise Maynard (1849–1935) and Ann Dudin Brown with five students in Maresfield Gardens in Hampstead. Dudin Brown had intended to found a missionary school but she had been persuaded otherwise by Maynard and Mary Petrie. They worked with the Metcalfe sisters. In 1891 the now named "Westfield College" moved to purpose-built buildings in Kidderpore Avenue, Hampstead.
Dudin Brown was the founding benefactress and council member from 1882 to 1917.
Twentieth century
1902: Westfield College admitted as a School of the University of London in the Arts.
From Wikipedia (CC BY-SA 4.0).