Overview
St. Louise's Comprehensive College (Irish: Colaiste Naoimh Labhaoise) is a comprehensive high school located in the Upper Falls Road, Belfast.
History
St. Louise's was established in 1958. The religious order the Daughters of Charity of St Vincent de Paul was asked by the Catholic Church to take responsibility for this school. The college is named after St. Louise de Marrilac who co-founded the Daughters of Charity with St. Vincent de Paul.
Sister Genevieve (Mary) O'Farrell was appointed one of the first Principals. She held the position for 25 years during which period the school grew in size from 1,000 to 2,400 students becoming the largest single-sex school in Europe. In 2019/20 school year it has begun to accept boys as well as girls.
Academics
St. Louise's offers instruction in a wide range of subjects. It offers technical and vocational courses alongside a large suite of academic subjects.
From Wikipedia (CC BY-SA 4.0).