Overview
The State University of New York at Farmingdale (Farmingdale State College or SUNY Farmingdale) is a public college in East Farmingdale, New York. It is part of the State University of New York. The college was chartered in 1912 as a school of applied agriculture under the name of New York State School Of Agriculture on Long Island. As of the fall semester of 2016, Farmingdale State College had an enrollment of 9,237.
History
The State University of New York at Farmingdale, established in 1912, originally began as the New York State School of Agriculture on Long Island. The proposal for the college's founding was put forth by State Assemblyman John Lupton in 1909. Currently, Lupton Hall, which accommodates the departments of Chemistry and Physics, as well as the School of Engineering Technology, is named in his honor.
Two of the oldest buildings on campus are Hicks Hall and Cutler Hall, which were constructed in 1914 and were originally called the Horticulture and Agronomy Buildings, respectively. The buildings house four oil on canvas murals, painted in 1936 by local artists Frederick Marshall and C. E. Lessing as a part of the Works Progress Administration. The murals depict agricultural scenes, including wheat threshing, rice harvesting, and cotton picking.
Ward Hall, also constructed in 1914, was the original dormitory and now houses College offices, including Alumni Relations and Business Outreach. When the college first admitted students in March 1916, Ward Hall was not yet completed. Students slept instead in temporary quarters on the upper level of Conklin Hall, which was then the physical plant.
From Wikipedia (CC BY-SA 4.0).