Overview
Campion Anglo-Indian Higher Secondary School was started in the year 1934 at Tiruchirapalli, Tamil Nadu, India. The school is named after its patron saint, St. Edmund Campion. The principal is Rev. Bro. James Paulraj.
History
The school was founded in 1934 as a subdivision school to St. Joseph’s European Middle School, which is now St Joseph's Girls Anglo Indian School. The school owes its existence to the philanthropy of a priest, Mgr. Joseph De Rozario, an Anglo-Indian, who was once a district sessions judge. It was intended for Europeans and Anglo-Indians, but members of other communities are also admitted. The school was initially administered by the Jesuits.
To mark the 25th anniversary of its foundation in 1960, the school constructed a chapel, dedicated to Regina Mundi, the "Queen of the World". In 1970, the school celebrated the canonization, on 25 October 1970, of Edmund Campion, the patron of the school.
At the close of 1972, the Jesuits handed over the management of the school to the owners, the Diocese of Tiruchirapalli. From 1975, the management of the school was taken over from the Diocese by the Brothers of Christian Instruction of St. Gabriel, also known as the Gabrielite Brothers.
From Wikipedia (CC BY-SA 4.0).