Overview
Bacup and Rawtenstall Grammar School (BRGS) is a selective co-educational academy grammar school in Waterfoot, Rossendale, Lancashire, England. The school is named after the two main towns either side of Waterfoot, Bacup and Rawtenstall.
History
The school was founded in the 18th century as Newchurch Grammar School, opening in 1703 on land bequeathed by John Kershaw in 1701. In the 19th century, records conflated Newchurch Grammar School with the National School of St Nicholas Church, also in Newchurch, suggesting that Kershaw (who died in 1701) bequeathed the land in memory of his wife, Anne, who died in 1709, and that it subsequently opened two years later in 1711. Records from the middle of this century, when Newchurch Grammar School was still in operation, clarified the 1703 date. The tombstone of the couple features two inscriptions about the endowment for the school.
The Kershaws' endowment formed a Trust for the education of local children, including building schools. The first school, built in 1701, was sited on Kershaw's Boothfold estate and was operational until 1787, when it was converted into cottages due to an expanded school for the Trust being built at a place called Bridleway nearby. This school itself was rebuilt on site twice, first in 1830 and again several decades later. The latter rebuild saw the 1830 structure demolished in 1889, but the new buildings would not open until 1890, with a temporary building used in the interim. The ambitious 1890 school, at a cost of £2200, was spearheaded by the headmaster, Rev. R. W. Hay, and considered a vast improvement both functionally (to deal with the hillside) and aesthetically (including a bell tower and collegiate architecture). Two of Hay's sons were Military Cross-awarded flying aces: Hugh Hay (born at the school) and Roger Hay.
In 1890, the management of the school formed a new plan to make it more popular and widen its intake, electing a twelve-member governing body comprising two members each selected by the Bacup and Rawtenstall town councils; one selected by the Newchurch School Board; one selected by Victoria University, to which the school was affiliated; and six local gentlemen. In July 1892, Mr. T. E. Jackson became headmaster.
From Wikipedia (CC BY-SA 4.0).